The CIAT Awards 2018

Presented by Chartered Institute of Architectural Technologists (CIAT) President Alex Naraian on 14 September 2018, the CIAT Awards celebrated the latest achievements and highest quality in Architectural Technology.

Held in East London at Village Underground, the event, hosted by Matt Allwright, was attended by a cross section of the built environment sector and showcased Architectural Technology both in practise and as a key academic discipline, demonstrating the growth and impact within the UK and internationally.

As Media Partner for the event, Applecore Designs offered Virtual Reality to all attendees. A branded CIAT Awards Google Cardboard VR viewer and full instruction was provided in delegate goodie bags. In addition, our in house team provided project downloads of the majority of finalists. The impression of space is achieved by displaying a separate image for each eye of the viewer, and movement is simulated using the phone’s sensors.

Vice-President Technical, Kevin Crawford MCIAT and Chair of the Judging Panel said ‘The finalists for both CIAT Awards were all of an exceptional standard and the winners all shared one thing — a clear demonstration of Architectural Technology as a key design function and how necessary it is to achieve build ability, usability and create inclusive environments. My congratulations go to all our finalists and I look forward to visiting the projects and presenting the plaques for permanent attachment to the buildings.’

Assessment was based upon the innovative application of Architectural Technology against a set criteria for each Award. Judges looked for robust and functional designs that were:

  • constructed economically;
  • environmentally sustainable; and
  • of durable performance.​

CIAT Awards: for Excellence in Architectural Technology

Winner: The Engine Shed, Historic Environment Scotland/Reiach & Hall Architects

The Engine Shed is Scotland’s dedicated building conservation centre based in Stirling. Excellent conservation practice is demonstrated through the use of traditional materials, technology and sustainability to demonstrate the adaption and reuse of a historic building for a new life. With sustainability at the heart of the design, the judges were unanimous in their decision that the project is the worthy winner of the 2018 CIAT Award.

Highly Commended: Gresham’s School Britten Building, LSI Architects


The two-storey Gresham’s School Britten Building development includes classrooms, music practice rooms, a recording studio, a 140 seat auditorium that will be used as a Sixth Form lecture theatre as well as performing space, cafeteria and social spaces for pupils. A highly competent and well considered solution to create an excellent learning environment for music. The massing and scale of the new building offers the school significant facilities whilst maintaining a close relationship to the surrounding buildings.

Commended: AgriSTEM, Maber Architects

CIAT Awards Maber

The AgriSTEM Academy is the third and final part of the development at South Staffordshire College’s 180 acre Rodbaston campus and involves the conversion of an old Granary Building with water tower at the heart of the campus. This landmark building, whilst not Listed, has significant architectural merit and our sensitive design approach was to respect its historic stature and work with it, designing the renovation to retain the building’s original feel.

CIAT Awards: The Alan King Award for Excellence in Architectural Technology (for projects valued £750k or under)

Winner: Old Gale Farm, Ambleside, John Coward Architects Ltd

A c.17th Century farmhouse renovated and modernised as a peaceful retreat for a retired couple. Careful consideration of the breath ability of existing structures shows an excellent understanding of how to combine traditional methods of construction to meet the demands of modern living.

All the Awards are featured on the CIAT website and in the autumn issue of AT Journal. Films can also be found on their YouTube channel. The CIAT Awards reopen in the New Year for 2019.