The Eight Pillars of BIM Level 2 – Part One

The original mandaEight Pillars of BIMte for Level 2 Building Information Modelling (BIM) incorporated seven pillars. Since the publication of PAS 1192-5:2015 there are now arguably eight pillars which make up a Level 2 BIM project. In order to be truly Level 2 BIM compliant here are the first four processes and associated documents that should be incorporated into your projects.

Pillar One – Capital Delivery

Publicly Available Specification (PAS) 1192-2:2013 is the specification for information management for the capital/delivery phase of construction projects using a BIM process including the requirements for Employer’s Information and the BIM Execution Plan.

This specification builds on the existing code of practice for the collaborative production of architectural, engineering and construction information, defined within BS 1192:2007 setting out the overall outline for a BIM project. PAS 1192-2:2013 also describes the shared use of individually authored models in a Common Data Environment (CDE), being a single source of information for any given project, used to collect, manage and disseminate all relevant approved project documents for multi-disciplinary teams.

BIM Process

Pillar Two – Operational Delivery

The purpose of PAS 1192-3:2014 is to act as a partner to PAS 1192:2 and support the Level 2 BIM objective by setting out a framework for information management for the whole life cycle of asset management. PAS 1192-3:2014 addresses the operational phase of assets irrespective of whether these were commissioned through major works, acquired through transfer of ownership or already existed in an asset portfolio. This document is crucial for BIM in the facilities management stage of an asset’s life cycle.

Pillar Three – COBie / FM

BS 1192-4:2014 defines expectations for the exchange of non-graphical project information fulfilling employer’s information exchange requirements using COBie – Code of practice. COBie enables the exchange of structured information for the commissioning, operation, and maintenance of a project in a neutral spreadsheet format.

Pillar Four – Cyber Security

PAS 1192-5:2015 is designed to provide a framework to assist asset owners in understanding the key vulnerability issues and the nature of controls required to enable the trustworthiness and security of digitally built assets.